Thread: On OSS license

Thanks

On OSS license

Hi @all

I've recently open-sourced LZ4, which can now be consulted on Google Code :
    http://code.google.com/p/lz4/

Shortly afterwards, I've received a lot of critical comments regarding the selected license. Since i'm not that fluent in software license, i decided in favor of what i expected to be the most common one, GPLv2.
    Still, it does not seem to please everyone.

Comment are very welcomed.

[Edit]
    a few comments are displayed here : http://fastcompression.blogspot.com/....html#comments
    Last edited by Cyan; 25th April 2011 at 13:26.

Thanks
    I'm not an expert in this area either. But, if you want to force the people who want to adopt or use your code to put an acknowledge notice about you (actually a copyright notice) in their documents or binaries (i.e. about box), you can go with BSD. But, if you really don't care crediting you, you can select Public Domain. These are the most suitable licenses to allow someone embedding your code into a production (i.e. a mobile device). GPL class licences force developers to open their full source in case of adaptation. So, it's somewhat not an option for proprietary works. In either case, all of your source code is subject to prior art. So, someone who thinks himself genius can't simply patent your works. Well, of course you should write a letter to the patent office in case of someone's attempt.
    BIT Archiver homepage: www.osmanturan.com

Thanks
    I agree with this:
    http://www.blogger.com/profile/05547971612651449893
    If you think that closed source software should be prohibited (or want to be paid for letting others use your code in a closed project), use GPL or AGPL.
    If you want let others free as to whether all their code should be FOSS, but want everybody to credit you, use BSD.