Thread: PAQ multi thread

Thanks

PAQ multi thread

Hi guys,

I'm new with PAQ and data compression. I've tested the some PAQ versions founded at Matt Mahoney page: http://cs.fit.edu/~mmahoney/compression at my linux x86_64, the results are great, but why no one of them is multi thread?

Maybe those examples are outdated and the new examples here at the forum are multi thread, but if not, can someone say me why? It is "impossible" or just not done yet?

Thanks
    People don't make multithreaded versions of PAQ8 nowadays.

Old experiments with it:
    http://encode.ru/threads/1017-PAQ8o8...=multithreaded

ZPAQ is multithreaded though.
    http://encode.ru/threads/456-zpaq-updates

Thanks
    There is any experiment on parallel programming? Something like use ZPAQ at NVidia through CUDA technology?

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by frede_sch View Post
    There is any experiment on parallel programming? Something like use ZPAQ at NVidia through CUDA technology?
    There are many experiments with parallelism, but few with PAQ.
    It's not so simple.
    I think the strongest GPGPU codec right now is BSC. And IIRC parts of it run on CPU.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by m^2 View Post
    There are many experiments with parallelism, but few with PAQ.
    It's not so simple.
    I think the strongest GPGPU codec right now is BSC. And IIRC parts of it run on CPU.
    BSC? A simple google search give me nothing.

I'm thinking about trying to implement some PAQ at CUDA, the fact that there are a multi thread PAQ is a great step, so I will take a look at that for the beginning. There is some paper/documentation or anything that fully explains ZPAQ code?

Thanks

Thanks
    Thanks Shelwien.

BSC is a very nice project, and have very nice benchmarks. But does not implements any version of PAQ for parallelism. Has someone done that?

Expert
    Thanks