Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 61 to 80 of 80

Thread: Metacompressor.com benchmark updates

  1. #61
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    772
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 270 Times in 190 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Zonder View Post
    they didnt create anything, read that google link i posted.

    Frauds done by same person(s):
    http://www.app-zilla.com/
    http://vio.thepiratebay.org/
    http://www.speedapps.com
    http://www.thepickapp.com/
    probably all those apps are stolen...

    they "invented" and patented "Adaptive Context Modeling" :
    http://www.freepatentsonline.com/y2007/0233477.html
    is that realy something new?
    infima-compression.com 08/18/2008 Infima Technologies LTD, Israel 208.109.181.36
    myinfima.com 01/04/2006 Kfir Hazaz, Israel 62.219.23.39
    media-cell.com 10/05/2006 Infima Technologies, Israel 208.109.78.8
    speedapps.com 08/20/2006 Nir Halowani, Israel 208.109.14.3
    thepickapp.com 12/09/2007 Henrik Sundgren, Haiti 68.178.254.107

    Maybe speedapps.com is a private project from Nir Halowani, I don't know how old he is, maybe he is a ex software cracker/hacker and good programmer what invented a neural network data compression http://appft1.uspto.gov/netacgi/nph-...DN/20070233477

    I can understand that the temptation for young guys to take open source code and change it a little, give it a nice GUI and add some paid per install adware/spyware/toolbar and promote it as new freeware software is a easy and quick way to earn money.

    Every company copy/reuse/reverse engineering algorithms and source code, only if they are big they get lawsuits but then it's not a problem to pay lawyers and exchange or threat back with own patents.

  2. #62
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,497
    Thanks
    733
    Thanked 659 Times in 354 Posts
    and good programmer what invented a neural network data compression http://appft1.uspto.gov/netacgi/nph-...DN/20070233477
    looks that they are also patented paq

  3. #63
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    772
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 270 Times in 190 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by encode View Post
    Tried many times to add my new PPMX with no success...

    I tested site with both FireFox and Internet Explorer. Since previously metacompressor.com had some issues with FireFox. I even registered there...
    It's a submit date related bug what I still need to fix, I added ppmx 0.05 manual.

  4. #64
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    772
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 270 Times in 190 Posts
    I added the standard calgary corpus (calgary) and the large calgary corpus (calgaryl) as tar test files to metacompressor.

  5. #65
    The Founder encode's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,954
    Thanks
    359
    Thanked 332 Times in 131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sportman View Post
    It's a submit date related bug what I still need to fix, I added ppmx 0.05 manual.
    Thanx!

  6. #66
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    772
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 270 Times in 190 Posts
    Today I added "top archivers" where live for each test file the quickest mixed multi-threaded and single-threaded results and single-threaded results alone sort by compression and decompression speed are calculated and displayed.

    http://www.metacompressor.com/top.aspx

    Some results show fake and to less results because failed archivers, for now use option "Compare Ok" to filter them out.

    I also added file37 a big difficult to compress HTML file with a mix of random languages and file38 a big more easy to compress HTML file, both I used to test this new option.

  7. #67
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    856
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 254 Times in 103 Posts
    Hello Sportsman

    I tried to add LZP2 to your list of files.
    So i created a login. and apparently, it somewhat worked, as the compressor now appears in the list of selectable binaries.

    But i couldn't run any test with it.
    Apparently, it requires a "code" to start, but i don't think i have received any, yet, on my registered email. Is there anything i did not understood properly ?

    Regards

  8. #68
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,497
    Thanks
    733
    Thanked 659 Times in 354 Posts
    freearc cannot be considered as single-threaded compressor since lzma is m/t; moreover, in latest versions grzip is also m/t. in order to force freearc use only one thread, "-mt-" option should be added
    Last edited by Bulat Ziganshin; 19th April 2009 at 22:27.

  9. #69
    Expert
    Matt Mahoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,255
    Thanks
    306
    Thanked 778 Times in 485 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyan View Post
    Hello Sportsman

    But i couldn't run any test with it.
    Apparently, it requires a "code" to start, but i don't think i have received any, yet, on my registered email. Is there anything i did not understood properly ?

    Regards
    http://encode.ru/forums/index.php?ac...um=1&topic=685

  10. #70
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    856
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 254 Times in 103 Posts
    Thanks Matt !!

  11. #71
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    772
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 270 Times in 190 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyan View Post
    Apparently, it requires a "code" to start, but i don't think i have received any, yet, on my registered email. Is there anything i did not understood properly ?
    If you choose the link "add archiver" from the page you get after login then "Code" and "Email address" are not asked.

    If you don't want to login first then you can fill in as "Code":
    LongNightsDebugging

    Decompression of LZP2 failed I thought because LZP2 tried to write to the application startup directory or input file path instead to the specified output file path. So it looks like LZP2 ignore the path given with the output file.

  12. #72
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    772
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 270 Times in 190 Posts
    Today I cleaned up failed results so that also without "Compare Ok" the "top archivers" list show the right results.

    I also added four charts, x-as is time and y-as are bytes. "Logarithmic time scale" is by default enabled and cause that numbers written under the chart (x-as) do not exactly correspondent with seconds but with logarithmic taken samples. When "Logarithmic time scale" is disabled x-as numbers do correspondent with seconds but shall show in case slow archivers where tested activity at the beginning followed by an almost flat line.

  13. #73
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    856
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 254 Times in 103 Posts
    If you choose the link "add archiver" from the page you get after login then "Code" and "Email address" are not asked.
    Thanks. That's clearer.
    Both functions "adding an archiver" and "compress a test file" are merged into a single page.

    Decompression of LZP2 failed I thought because LZP2 tried to write to the application startup directory or input file path instead to the specified output file path. So it looks like LZP2 ignore the path given with the output file.
    That's correct. I tried to upload a new version which should correct the problem, but i had numerous difficulty doing so. It seems there is some issue with Google Chrome.
    Switching to firefox solved them.

  14. #74
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    772
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 270 Times in 190 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyan View Post
    That's correct. I tried to upload a new version which should correct the problem, but i had numerous difficulty doing so. It seems there is some issue with Google Chrome.
    Switching to firefox solved them.
    That new version crash lzp2 application at decompression, looks like some error handling is missing.

  15. #75
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    856
    Thanks
    447
    Thanked 254 Times in 103 Posts
    That new version crash lzp2 application at decompression, looks like some error handling is missing.
    Hummm, this second version should have solved the issue; my testings showed positive results. But maybe the testing method is flawed, and there was something that i did not understood.
    I'm willing to correct this issue.
    I will write to you in Private Message, to not pollute the main thread.

  16. #76
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    772
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 270 Times in 190 Posts
    It's now possible to direct link to test file upload results and to test file top archivers by adding parameter "testfile" with value test file name:

    http://www.metacompressor.com/upload...stfile=calgary
    http://www.metacompressor.com/top.aspx?testfile=calgary

    Interesting is that zpaq 1.0 cmax.cfg score as best compressor above paq8o8zw at two simple to compress bmp images:

    http://www.metacompressor.com/upload...estfile=file39
    http://www.metacompressor.com/top.aspx?testfile=file39

    http://www.metacompressor.com/upload...estfile=file40
    http://www.metacompressor.com/top.aspx?testfile=file40
    Last edited by Sportman; 22nd April 2009 at 03:09.

  17. #77
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Cicero, NY
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Is it possible to add a new config file without adding a new archiver?

    I am interested in adding a config for ZPAQ 1.00 without re-adding the archiver.

    The command line would change only by the .cfg file that I want to upload.

    Thanks,

    MikeR

  18. #78
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Antwerp , country:Belgium , W.Europe
    Posts
    487
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    I just got 3x in a row "Test System Error 3" when trying to beat ZPAQ () on the files 39 and 40.....
    What could be the problem ?

    --edit--
    Also the results are not always visible in the "upload" view.
    I uploaded "FreaArc Full 21-04-2009" and used the same switches for file 39 and file 40. The result is however only listed under file 40..??
    Why is the result not listed for file 39 ?
    (I need only about 20kb bytes extra to beat ZPAQ.. )
    Last edited by pat357; 22nd April 2009 at 01:00.

  19. #79
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    772
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 270 Times in 190 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by russelms View Post
    Is it possible to add a new config file without adding a new archiver?MikeR
    Not at this moment.

  20. #80
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    772
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 270 Times in 190 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pat357 View Post
    I just got 3x in a row "Test System Error 3" when trying to beat ZPAQ () on the files 39 and 40.....
    What could be the problem ?

    --edit--
    Also the results are not always visible in the "upload" view.
    I uploaded "FreaArc Full 21-04-2009" and used the same switches for file 39 and file 40. The result is however only listed under file 40..??
    Why is the result not listed for file 39 ?
    (I need only about 20kb bytes extra to beat ZPAQ.. )
    Both are caused by the sandbox, new uploaded archivers can be used once and results are only visible by the uploader in the table at the screen after login. When I manual approve the uploaded archiver it become visible for all and can be reused and the results become also visible for all. Maybe I go to remove this sandbox it was accidentally added and I didn‘t remove it. Often I approved so quick that uploaders didn't notice it.
    Last edited by Sportman; 22nd April 2009 at 03:29.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Similar Threads

  1. zpaq updates
    By Matt Mahoney in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 2527
    Last Post: 4th May 2019, 12:33
  2. Metacompressor.com first contest
    By Sportman in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 15th October 2008, 00:50

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •