Thread: practical implementation of packJPG and packMP3

Tester
    Thanks

Question practical implementation of packJPG and packMP3

packJPG sources are out for quite some months now, and with sources of packMP3 also being available,
    I am asking myself, why we don't see them included in p.ex. FreeARC, MCM, ZPAQ or a custom 7-Zip.
    Would such an integration be much work?

Thanks
    Since I am not a developer, here are my guesses:

1: Licensing.

packJPG is released under the LGPL(i think) while packMP3 under the GPL. This may interfere with some projects that wish to be public domain(7-Zip).
    2: Lack of Interest.

I posted news about packMP3 to HydrogenAudio the day sources were released. 0 replies: http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/...0&#entry846137
    3: Marginal compression improvement.

packJPG is better in this regard since the compression ratio is often better. Decoding time is also much slower. Also, to get the most benefit out of both, pre-processing must be done(default jpegtran settings for packJPG and sometimes mp3packer -z depending on the encoder used as well as VBR vs. CBR).

Actually mp3s could be compressed even further by using packJPG on the embedded image(s) prior to using packMP3 but that's a small aside.

Expert
    Thanks
    For zpaq, there is the technical problem in that the decompression code has to be written in ZPAQL.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Mangix View Post
    I posted news about packMP3 to HydrogenAudio the day sources were released. 0 replies: http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/...0&#entry846137
    Command-Line Decoder Wrapper can't use packMP3.

Tester
    Thanks
    My idea would be something like 7-Zip extra that uses both compressors for their certain filetypes in a .7z or .7zx format.
    As Igor is very busy atm, would someone else implement it? As for licensing, 7-Zip is LGPL and could use packJPG easily.