Thread: Easy for you , very hard for me......aid !

Thanks

Easy for you , very hard for me......aid !

I want a programming compression software (Huffman coding) , but I have a problem.

I'm a newbie in this domain. But my question is very important is how the program compresses data file with a large capacity in a short time? What is the structure programming used , analyzes file all bytes, bytes quickly?

I programming software compresses but : file 1 MB compression in 10 minutes it’s big time !

Expert
    Thanks

Thanks
    assume you're using naive static huffman coding:

counting for frequency table: O(n)
    building huffman table: O(k)
    runing huffman encoding: O(n)

how can you cost 10 minutes for n=1,000,000 and k=256?

BTW i think this page helps: http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by RichSelian View Post
    assume you're using naive static huffman coding:

counting for frequency table: O(n)
    building huffman table: O(k)
    runing huffman encoding: O(n)

how can you cost 10 minutes for n=1,000,000 and k=256?

BTW i think this page helps: http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
    What's the algorithm for building the tree in O(k)? With a binary heap, it's O(k log(k)).

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by nburns View Post
    What's the algorithm for building the tree in O(k)? With a binary heap, it's O(k log(k)).
    http://www.staff.science.uu.nl/~leeuw112/huffman.pdf

Expert
    Thanks
    Building a Huffman code in O(k): http://mattmahoney.net/dc/dce.html#Section_31

If you want something fast and simple, use LZ77 or LZSS with fixed codes. For example, code a match with 1 byte for length and 2 or 3 bytes for the offset. Code a literal with 1 byte for the length. Use 1 or 2 bits of the length code to indicate whether it is a match or a literal and how many match bytes. During compression use a hash table to look for matches. Look at the code for snappy, lazy, or lz4 for examples.