Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Suffix tree transformation?

Thanks

Suffix tree transformation?

While I am by no means an expert in compression, it seems to me that a new classification of compression methods would be useful to better describe programs such as bpe, krc, diqs, tree, and possibly others.

As I understand it, these programs are classified as "Dictionary" compressors. I think this is somewhat misleading because, for the most part, none of these programs care about "words" as we think of them normally (unlike xwrt, I think) and the symbols can be composed of other symbols in addition to letters.

Therefore, it seems to me that a description such as "Suffix tree transformation" would more accurately describe what these programs do. They all create symbols for the "best" suffix(es) and then use the new symbols in place of the suffixes until they run out of good suffixes, and then write the compressed output using the transformed suffix tree.

Thoughts?

Thanks
    Isn't your compression scheme a variant of LZ78 with offline parsing optimization? By offline I mean making decisions at some point using data well past that point. Usual LZ78 variant only examine immediate input and current contents of dictionary to make a local decision.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Piotr Tarsa View Post
    Isn't your compression scheme a variant of LZ78 with offline parsing optimization? By offline I mean making decisions at some point using data well past that point. Usual LZ78 variant only examine immediate input and current contents of dictionary to make a local decision.
    Tree is similar to LZ78 in terms of the dictionary being built up dynamically as the compressed stream is sent or received, but I think there are many important differences:

1. LZ78 dictionary entries are limited to a previous match plus one character. Tree dictionary entries can be any combination of previous dictionary entries and new dictionary entries up to order 9000.