Thread: Re-pair compression

Thanks

Re-pair compression

Hi everybody,
    I'm no compression expert at all, but I desperately need an ultra fast decompression algorithm that also has a good compression ratio, but I'll leave this topic and the details for another post or maybe I'll include it in this post at a later stage.
    For now I would like to know if you have experimented with the "re-pair" idea from Larson and Mofat.
    I searched this forum and I haven't found anything on this topic so I decided to post this idea to the compression gurus of this forum.
    http://www.larsson.dogma.net/dcc99.pdf
    https://code.google.com/p/re-pair/
    http://www.cbrc.jp/~rwan/en/restore.html

best regards,
    Alvaro

Thanks
    There has been some discussion of Re-pair, mostly by me -- I recommend using google or bing to search this site (https://www.google.com/search?q=site...pair+algorithm). The discussions haven't been all that substantive and analytic, but at least one other forum regular besides myself has read the paper. Discussion of fast compression usually revolves around LZ77-style algorithms, and there are several mature algorithms/compressors out there (some by forum regulars). I'm not sure how they compare with Re-pair for compression efficiency, but one possible advantage of Re-pair is the absence of a sliding window (it can also be a disadvantage). A few forum regulars have also written some experimental compressors that are similar in principle to Re-pair and have fast decompression speeds (e.g. Kenon Conrad's Tree). The problem with those is that, so far, compression is too slow to be useful.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by nburns View Post
    The problem with those is that, so far, compression is too slow to be useful.