Thread: Hi Everybody!!!

Thanks

Hi Everybody!!!

Hi Everybody!
    I'm very glad to finally join you all in this forum.
    Let me introduce myself...
    My name is Gonzalo, and i live in Argentina.
    I've been reading at encode.ru for years (maybe 4 or 5 surely) but just registered now. So i've tested by myself almost all ending with .exe around here, starting with FA's PowerPack and updates (except some *paq and cousins which sets deep blue as minimum requirement - sorry Matt.)
    Sadly, i'm not a programmer, but i'd love to. I think it's matter of time. But data compression is such an addictive hobby.
    As you will soon notice, English is not my 1st language. So, BTW, feel free to correct me when needed. I will not get angry... guess we're all here to learn as well. Thank you.
    ------------------------------------------------------

Well... a first (contribution?) to the forum:
    Recently, randomly googling for data compression in Portuguese, i read something new. Googled deeper, and seems like you neither heard about it.
    So, here is the same article in english: http://www.technologyreview.com/view...ssion/?ref=rss
    At first sight, seems like those attempts to find certain data stream at x offset of PI... theoretically possible but extremelly impractical.
    Anyway... Let's talk about magic.
    Last edited by Gonzalo; 17th August 2014 at 01:33. Reason: Misspelling

Thanks
    Mathemattical backgrounds o' mine isn't very deep. But AFAIK, the amount of RAM needed to store all combinations of 256...

Thanks
    Hi Gonzalo,

If I understood the paper correctly (at a first glance), it's about improving the theoretical lower bounds - i.e. defining them more precisely, not shifting them lower. It can influence further theoretical considerations, but it's not magic nor does it show any method for improving compression.
    Last edited by Piotr Tarsa; 17th August 2014 at 01:52. Reason: greeting :)

Thanks