Thread: Best Video Compression Methods

Thanks

Exclamation Best Video Compression Methods

Hello all,

I am somewhat new to video compression so I need some help.

I have about 220 avi & Mp4 files that differ in size from 1.2GB to 2.5GB that I want to compress.

FILE INFO

Video info:
    Codec: H264 - MPEG-4 AVC (PART10)
    Resolution: 1280x720

Audio info:
    Codec: A52 Audio (aka AC3) (a52)
    Channels:Stereo

I am unsure of what software to use and what settings would be best, advice please?

Thanks
    i do not think that you can gain much because 264 is already very efficient. you can try x265 and use vlc to play

Thanks
    I was worried that might be the case. Could I convert to MKV and try downsizing the files that way?

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by mindtreaser1 View Post
    I was worried that might be the case. Could I convert to MKV and try downsizing the files that way?
    I do no think so, because mkv is almost only a container, so your MP4 files will be... MP4 embedded on MKV.
    You can get real shrink reducing resolution and/or quality

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by fcorbelli View Post
    i do not think that you can gain much because 264 is already very efficient. you can try x265 and use vlc to play
    What process do I use to make into x265?
    Although from my experience with x264 vs x265, 265 is a slight loss of quality with very little difference in size reduction, would you say this would be the case?
    And what kind of reduction in size would I get from the change to 265, from say, a 2GB video?

Thanks
    very small. try yourself. but i suspect there is not space for significative gain.

Thanks
    So there really isn't anything I can do to reduce the space these files are taking up then huh?
    I just realized I could possible just zip/rar them, although that is impractical.
    Does this sound like a good idea to you? If so, should I zip them individually or with many?

Thanks