Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Memory Usage vs. Memory Requirements for (De)Compression?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    174
    Thanked 51 Times in 37 Posts

    Memory Usage vs. Memory Requirements for (De)Compression?

    Hi everyone,

    I have been playing around with open source compressors lately and making lower memory versions for my old backup PCs which have less memory and I came across this dilemma!

    How does one go about estimating or calculating memory requirements with respect to memory usage?

    For example, if your file compressor is to only require that the user have 512MB memory, how much do you allow your compressor to use?

    How does one factor in the OS memory usage along with running processes/programs in the background that use memory?

    Another sample scenario: If Windows NT 4.0 requires 16MB RAM minimum, and the user has 32MB total, could your compressor use 27.5MB? Or should it use less?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Kraków, Poland
    Posts
    1,471
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 120 Times in 94 Posts
    It depends on what's loaded into memory during (de)compression, ie how many background or foreground applications there are and how much the OS eats. You should try it yourself :]

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    174
    Thanked 51 Times in 37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Piotr Tarsa View Post
    It depends on what's loaded into memory during (de)compression, ie how many background or foreground applications there are and how much the OS eats. You should try it yourself :]
    Thanks and that's what I'm working on.

    So there is no good "rule-of-thumb" for this one? I thought that perhaps there was a general assumption of what a typical user would have available based upon their total memory:

    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Kraków, Poland
    Posts
    1,471
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 120 Times in 94 Posts
    IIRC I had a somewhat lean (no antivirus and bloatware) Win98SE installation on computer with 96 MiB of RAM and I was use more than 70 MB of RAM for my TarsaLZP program.
    My friend had WinXP installation with some ordinary stuff like antivirus and some bloatware on a computer with 128 MiB of RAM and it was having memory problems (eg OS panic resulting in forcibly closed programs or heavy swapping) during fairly normal usage.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    174
    Thanked 51 Times in 37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Piotr Tarsa View Post
    IIRC I had a somewhat lean (no antivirus and bloatware) Win98SE installation on computer with 96 MiB of RAM and I was use more than 70 MB of RAM for my TarsaLZP program.
    My friend had WinXP installation with some ordinary stuff like antivirus and some bloatware on a computer with 128 MiB of RAM and it was having memory problems (eg OS panic resulting in forcibly closed programs or heavy swapping) during fairly normal usage.
    That's good information...Just what I was looking for.

  6. #6
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,497
    Thanks
    733
    Thanked 659 Times in 354 Posts
    FreeArc automatically allocates up to 3/4 of total RAM to its compression algos. so far, noone complained

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    323
    Thanks
    174
    Thanked 51 Times in 37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bulat Ziganshin View Post
    FreeArc automatically allocates up to 3/4 of total RAM to its compression algos. so far, noone complained
    Perfect! Exactly what I wanted to know. Thanks

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    464
    Thanks
    202
    Thanked 81 Times in 61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bulat Ziganshin View Post
    FreeArc automatically allocates up to 3/4 of total RAM to its compression algos. so far, noone complained

    That has always been my "thumb rule"

Similar Threads

  1. Looking for a low memory usage .exe packer
    By SvenBent in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 5th April 2015, 17:19
  2. Fastest in memory compression c++
    By JangoFatXL in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 10th April 2014, 22:03
  3. Fast compression with limited memory
    By cade in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 3rd February 2014, 22:08
  4. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12th April 2009, 02:39
  5. Can't allocate memory required for (de)compression..help!
    By Duarte in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 18th July 2008, 18:14

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •