Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: SREP bug - Please Help :(

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy SREP bug - Please Help :(

    I have been trying and trying to compress files larger than 25 GB using SREP but it always gives the same following error :-

    ERROR! Can't allocate memory: 6202 mb memory required (l64k -a- -ia- options may help)
    I have tried suggestions of using "-s" switch, I tried doing with -s100gb and more than that as well but it never worked.

    Please don't give me suggestions of increasing down the "-l" value. There must be a way to let SREP allocate the required memory.

    Please help me here

  2. #2
    Member Skymmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    681
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 168 Times in 84 Posts
    If you're using Windows OS then run cmd.exe and following command: systeminfo>%USERPROFILE%\desktop\stats.txt
    Open stats.txt on your desktop and find the following lines and paste them here:
    Code:
    Total Physical Memory:
    Available Physical Memory:
    Virtual Memory: Max Size:
    Virtual Memory: Available:
    Virtual Memory: In Use:
    Write the exact version of SREP you're trying to compress with.
    Write the exact size of data you're trying to compress.
    Write the exact command line.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Total Physical Memory: 32,734 MB
    Available Physical Memory: 24,648 MB
    Virtual Memory: Max Size: 98,199 MB
    Virtual Memory: Available: 79,786 MB
    Virtual Memory: In Use: 18,413 MB

    SREP: 3.91 beta, though this error is not version related because it happens with EVERY version of SREP.

    I am compressing "32.1 GB (34,526,266,368 bytes)" of data, though I may want to compress files larger than this.

    Command-line: srep -m5f -l256

    That -l256 never worked on files larger than 25 GB, that's the problem with SREP and it seems unfixable. Please someone help !

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    To me, it seems you are using the 32 bit version of srep.

    In the srep distribution archive there is also a srep64.

    E

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to edcassa For This Useful Post:

    Bulat Ziganshin (29th October 2015)

  6. #5
    Member Skymmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    681
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 168 Times in 84 Posts
    srep -m5f -l512 -slp- -ia- -a0 -s35000000000

Similar Threads

  1. Precomp+Srep+MSC+What else????
    By Manjunath in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21st December 2014, 22:37
  2. SRep made 6gb archive into 3gb
    By SvenBent in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10th July 2014, 14:31
  3. Precomp and srep
    By vlv in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th December 2010, 12:16
  4. Srep with multiple files support ?
    By SvenBent in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th September 2010, 19:41
  5. -Delete back in srep
    By SvenBent in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th December 2009, 21:36

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •