Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: SREP creepy decompression problem! Can it be an irreversible, lossy bug?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Sopianae
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Angry SREP creepy decompression problem! Can it be an irreversible, lossy bug?

    Hi!

    I'm just a laic user of the application in this case, namely Super REP. See here:
    http://freearc.org/research/SREP.aspx
    http://freearc.org/research/SREP39.htm

    I compressed some of my digital datas with this process among other things. See:
    I went through the followings on Linux Mint : First, I put the files into a TAR archive. Then I used Christian Schneider's /schnaader/ precompressor utility (http://schnaader.info/precomp.php). Then, I made that SREP tool eat the output of precomp as input, with it's 3.91 beta version, as I remember. And then, finally, I've had the main compression task to be done with lrzip : http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/lrzip/

    LRZip worked fine during backward too, mean the decompression. But SREP gives me this CREEPY error, while I would like to decompress the file:

    ERROR! Decompression problem: uncompressed block size is XXXXXXXXX bytes, while maximum supported size is 8388608 bytes

    XXXXXXXXX is the size of bytes, depends on the file, not really important in that case.



    PLEASE, HELP ME! IS IT RESOLUBLE, OR..... my files are lost??!!!
    Am I doing something wrong via the terminal, wrong arguments, parameters in the decompression command?? Or what??!


    Here is the link to the concrete file, which I have to decompress successfully:
    http://file.uw.hu/palatinus.pcf.srep
    Or just shortly: http://file.uw.hu
    (Both links refers to the same file)

    Many thanks in advance to the masters!

    <Armin>

  2. #2
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,483
    Thanks
    719
    Thanked 653 Times in 349 Posts
    it looks like decompression error in lrzip. does it save some checksum?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    854
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 104 Times in 82 Posts
    do you try to do it without the last step, since the last syep should have no influence on the srep data if its done correctly, the errors should still be there, gf the error is due to srep and not just lrzip corruption stuff.
    Also making md5 files for each step will fast reveals which decoding process goes wrong.

    You really didn't do a lot of stuff to investigate, but just started pointing fingers at srep...

Similar Threads

  1. SREP bug - Please Help :(
    By KVM in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27th October 2015, 16:56
  2. Precomp+Srep+MSC+What else????
    By Manjunath in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21st December 2014, 22:37
  3. Lossy DEFLATE, lossy PNG
    By porneL in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 15th August 2013, 19:00
  4. Precomp and srep
    By vlv in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th December 2010, 12:16
  5. -Delete back in srep
    By SvenBent in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th December 2009, 21:36

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •