Thread: compressing animation frames

Thanks

Question compressing animation frames

Hi,

I'm a Delphi/C++ programmer.
    Currently I'm using LZ4 from here in a small Delphi application (work-in-progress) to compress animation frames (temporary/work RAM storage).
    But sometimes, on high resolution animations, I get "Out of memory".
    In such cases it's preferable to wait a little longer for the application to process the data.
    So I'm looking for an alternative with higher compression rate but close speed. The application will still use LZ4 by default but the user can choose to use the alternative in Options.

So far I tested SynLZ, it has close speed but only 4% higher compression ratio.

What do you recommend?

Thank you.

Regards,
    Cosmin

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmin3 View Post
    LZ4 ... to compress animation frames ... So I'm looking for an alternative with higher compression rate but close speed.
    WebP lossless or WebP near-lossless are good solutions for this. If compression speed is an important topic, try out the WebP lossless encoder with setting -m 0 and -q 0. If you only care about decompression speed and size, use -m 6 and -q 100.

Example command lines to try out with cwebp:

cwebp -lossless -m 0 -q 0 input.png -o output-fast-compression.webp
    cwebp -lossless -m 6 -q 100 input.png -o output-dense-compression.webp
    cwebp -near_lossless 60 -m 6 -q 100 input.png -o output-jyrkis-favorite-webp-lossless-settings.webp

For a fair comparison, you need to take a new version of cwebp (0.5.0 at least), there are compression density impacting bugs in versions 0.3.x and 0.4.x.

If WebP is too slow for your use case, you might be able to keep using LZ4, but just apply a delta filter for pixels before the LZ4 phase.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Jyrki Alakuijala For This Useful Post:

Cosmin3 (8th June 2016)

Thanks
    Thank you.

"-m 6 -q 100" is way too slow.