Thread: LZ4, BWT, RLE?

Thanks

Exclamation LZ4, BWT, RLE?

Hi there...
    This is my first time here on encode.ru and seems cool!

I wanted to ask if you guys think it might be a good idea to create this kind of C++ Application: It uses 3 different types of Algorithms before giving the output to the user in this way: LZ4, BWT, RLE:

Is it possible to use LZ4 to create an initial step and then apply BWT to sort data... In the end RLE on data previously sorted by bwt?

Thanks
    bwt+rle can compress data 2-3x. this combination is pretty bad in terms of speed/compression ratio, compared to other alternatives (such as bsc of zstd), but if you want to make compressor for learning purposes, it will at least compress. i expect that lz4 preprocessing will decrease overall compression ratio. but yoy can try to tune it increasing minimum match length to 32 or so

for example, best practical bwt-based compressor BSC runs data through lzp+bwt+rle+reversed mtf+special entropy coding. with only bwt+rle you leave ~50% of possible compression on the table, while compression time will be about the same (bwt is the slowest part of this algo sequence)

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Bulat Ziganshin For This Useful Post:

alberto98fx (20th June 2016)

Thanks
    I made a quick test for you using bce (my bwt based compressor) so you can make your own thoughts:

Code:
    Program      | Time | Size
    bce          | 20.1 | 20.878.504
    lz4 -1 | bce | 12.7 | 35.930.444
    lz4 -9 | bce |  9.4 | 35.439.320
    drt | bce    | 14.4 | 20.672.568
    BCE is <2 times slower than bwt+rle but compresses better.
    DRT is the dictionary preprocessor of Alexander Rasushnyak.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to Christoph Diegelmann For This Useful Post:

alberto98fx (20th June 2016)

Thanks

Lightbulb Idea

What about instead of BWT using PPM?

Thanks