Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: What`s your opinion on browser cache in RAMdisk?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts

    What`s your opinion on browser cache in RAMdisk?

    How much should I set say if I use it in general daily browsing or should I turn it off completely if I have 4Gb ramdisk? What matters is page loading performance of course.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    856
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 104 Times in 82 Posts
    What you have to remember is that you windows does allready use a dynamic ramdisk. its dynmaic in size and in what data is in it. it cosntly tries to put you newest data in and tries to optimise the contents as much as it can do.

    its called the diskcache.

    every gigabyt of memmory you remove to your ramdisk is memmory removede from your diskcache. so roghly said you are not getting moere data into memory instesd you are focusing memory to contain as specific data.
    ofcause if you only care for page load time and dont care for oeveral system perfomance you might get a zero to something performance increase at the cost of some general performance. i honestly dont think you will feel much of a difference by using a ramdisk over just letting you diskcache handle the memory unless for some very specific situations.


    in general i would consider it a waste of memory. however i do have a small 256mb diskcache for just png optimizaitions but that because its get brute forced alot so there is tons of read and write on the same file.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    France
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    err...
    RAMDisk it comes from Amiga Classic

    Happy New Year !!

  4. #4
    Member nikkho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    542
    Thanks
    214
    Thanked 163 Times in 104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by uglyvan View Post
    err...
    RAMDisk it comes from Amiga Classic

    Happy New Year !!
    Before AmigaDOS, DOS has support for it!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    hmm any way to bench if i have profit using browser cache and not using, excluding subjective perception?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    856
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 104 Times in 82 Posts
    Timer.exe and a batch script.

    you cant use traditionel Storage benchmark as the request to bypass cache so you are testing uncached vs ramdisk. not cache vs ramdisk.


    The time it does for me to run e.g.g pngout trial "multithreade" is the same on a HDD than on a ramdisk

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Mars
    Posts
    164
    Thanks
    115
    Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
    i mean to bench browser performance with and without cache , not disk IO

Similar Threads

  1. What`s wrong with forum or Yandex browser?
    By necros in forum The Off-Topic Lounge
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th May 2016, 13:02
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th May 2015, 05:40
  3. Super-Scalar RAM-CPU Cache Compression
    By Gonzalo in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16th February 2015, 02:06
  4. RAMDisk software
    By Surfer in forum The Off-Topic Lounge
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30th March 2010, 22:44
  5. Alternative Browser for FireFox: IRON
    By JangoFatXL in forum The Off-Topic Lounge
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 18th March 2009, 16:57

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •