Thread: Looking for compression algorithm with simply decompression

Thanks

Looking for compression algorithm with simply decompression

Hi,

I'm a neuromorphic hardware designer trying to implement a compressed cache system on a digital chip as part of my PhD and I have been suggested to ask here for help. During the design, I noticed that the data I'm going to store, despite being composed of 16 bits words,have the following distribution:

minimum number of bits to represent them | %
    1 | 20.1%
    2 | 12.7%
    3 | 22.5%
    4 | 29.0%
    5 | 14.7%
    6 | 0.9%
    7 | < 0.1%
    8 | < 0.1%
    9 | < 0.1%
    10 | < 0.1%
    11 | < 0.1%
    12 | < 0.1%
    13 | < 0.1%
    14 | < 0.1%
    15 | < 0.1%
    16 | < 0.1%

The physical structure in which they are going to be stored can be seen as a set of small list of 9 words each

L[0][0]= [0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8]
    L[0][1]= [0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8]
    L[0][2]=[0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8]
    L[0][7]=[0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8]
    L[1][0]=[0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8]
    L[1][1]=[0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8]
    L[N][7]=[0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8]

at time step 0, the system is going to read, in parallel, the first values of the 8 lists composing L[K], one from list (so L[K][0][0],L[K][1][0],L[K][2][0],L[K][3][0],...)
    at time step 1, the second values of the lists composing L[K] are read(L[K][0][1],L[K][1][1],L[K][2][1],L[K][3][1],...)
    at time step 2, the third values

it continues until 9 values are read for each list(L[K][0][8],L[K][1][8],L[K][2][8],L[K][3][8],...), then it starts to read from another L[K]

I'm trying to reduce the number of bits composing each 9-words list using some compression technique. The technique can be very slow and complex during compression phase (it is performed offline) but must be very simply for decompression (to avoid hardware overhead).

Since it is done in HW, it has some extra "unusual" constrain: