Thread: Compressor Specialized For Numerical Sequences / Math

Thanks

Compressor Specialized For Numerical Sequences / Math

Could it be beneficial to create a specialized compressor for number sequences / mathematical data? For example, if a file contained the string "2468", a compressor could encode that, for example, as "2BC" (where B is +2, and C is 3 iterations). Could this be effective in some cases? Are there any compressors that do this already?

*Btw, I'm a newb at compression. I hope you'll go easy on me if I sound naive.

Thanks
    I think in this particular example, just perform differ of the sequence ( which becomes 2222 ) and then run RLE: 2, 4. But I am not sure in general how to find formula to generate a sequence. Many seemingly random integer sequences are in fact generated by fixed formulas ( random number generation remains to be a research topic ), but how to reverse the generation process perhaps is far more harder.

Disclosure: I am not an expert in compression either ...

Thanks
    There are some compressors which have special models for linear sequences like "2468", winrar, zcm, nanozip, jampack, and I think freearc. This kind of filter is really easy to write, its just the previous value minus the current one. Something that doesn't seem obvious at first is that delta coding is a bijection, meaning there's no expansion on the data. For example a sequence "190, 97" would cause a difference of -93, but if we're working on an alphabet of 0 to 255 it's the same as -93%256=163. Everything will stay within 0 to 255 without ever needing to transmit the negative.

As for the actual compression of the sequence that's totally up to you. Run length encoding is simple and fast enough for this case.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by jamiestroud69 View Post
    string "2468"