Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: New LTCB record

  1. #1
    Expert
    Matt Mahoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,255
    Thanks
    306
    Thanked 778 Times in 485 Posts

    New LTCB record

    New LTCB record. http://www.mattmahoney.net/text/text.html#1280

    Dmitry Shkarin has improved durilca4linux_3 to durilca'kingsize. Compression of enwik9 is improved from 129.8 MB to 128.0 MB. Unfortunately the program requires 13 GB of memory and 64-bit Windows, so I could not run it on my own computer.

  2. #2
    Member Yuri Grille.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    ****
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Nice compressor to the NASA computers

    Nice compressor to the NASA computers ,

    Nice work

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Poland, Warsaw
    Posts
    909
    Thanks
    531
    Thanked 359 Times in 267 Posts
    Matt,
    this record is visible only on mattmahoney.net page but page
    http://www.cs.fit.edu/~mmahoney/compression/text.html
    isn't updated.

    Is it should be updated too?

    Darek

  4. #4
    Expert
    Matt Mahoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,255
    Thanks
    306
    Thanked 778 Times in 485 Posts
    It appears that the fit.edu server is rejecting my password. Not sure why. Maybe because I am no longer teaching there. I guess I will have to move all my compression work to my other website at mattmahoney.net.

    EDIT: now it appears all my files at http://cs.fit.edu/~mmahoney are removed too.
    Last edited by Matt Mahoney; 23rd July 2009 at 04:02.

  5. #5
    Expert
    Matt Mahoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,255
    Thanks
    306
    Thanked 778 Times in 485 Posts
    I moved everything to http://mattmahoney.net/dc/
    This includes all my benchmarks (LTCB, generic, Calgary) and software (ZPAQ, PAQ8, PAQ9, LPAQ, BBB, SR2, FPAQ0, etc). Then after doing so and updating lots of links, my old site at http://cs.fit.edu/~mmahoney/compression is back up again working normally. Well, I am just going to leave it there with links to my new location and not maintain the old site any more.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    856
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 104 Times in 82 Posts
    13GB of ram thats not even gonna run on my machine, and i just upgraded to 12GB to be able to use 7-zip with 1gb Dict.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    China
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt Mahoney View Post
    I moved everything to http://mattmahoney.net/dc/
    This includes all my benchmarks (LTCB, generic, Calgary) and software (ZPAQ, PAQ8, PAQ9, LPAQ, BBB, SR2, FPAQ0, etc). Then after doing so and updating lots of links, my old site at http://cs.fit.edu/~mmahoney/compression is back up again working normally. Well, I am just going to leave it there with links to my new location and not maintain the old site any more.
    Thanks to do it!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt Mahoney View Post
    New LTCB record. http://www.mattmahoney.net/text/text.html#1280

    Dmitry Shkarin has improved durilca4linux_3 to durilca'kingsize. Compression of enwik9 is improved from 129.8 MB to 128.0 MB. Unfortunately the program requires 13 GB of memory and 64-bit Windows, so I could not run it on my own computer.
    I will be extremely surprised if I get 13 GB of RAM any time before 2020. :-P

  9. #9
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,497
    Thanks
    733
    Thanked 659 Times in 354 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rugxulo View Post
    I will be extremely surprised if I get 13 GB of RAM any time before 2020. :-P
    memory sizes are increased 100x each 10 years, so if now you have more than 100 mb...

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bulat Ziganshin View Post
    memory sizes are increased 100x each 10 years, so if now you have more than 100 mb...
    You really think 13 GB will ever be necessary for home users?? Maybe to run several VMs at once, but otherwise, I can't think of a serious reason!

  11. #11
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,497
    Thanks
    733
    Thanked 659 Times in 354 Posts
    you are right, 640mb should be enough for anything

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    China
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Angry

    The work is amazing. The hardware is expecting!

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    856
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 104 Times in 82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bulat Ziganshin View Post
    you are right, 640mb should be enough for anything
    Only if you are wasting 654720kbytes

  14. #14
    Expert
    Matt Mahoney's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,255
    Thanks
    306
    Thanked 778 Times in 485 Posts
    Heh! In a few years every new computer will come with 16 GB, and you will need it if you want to run Windows.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wezep, Netherlands
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bulat Ziganshin View Post
    you are right, 640mb should be enough for anything
    Wasn't that 640KB? Initially IBM wanted 512KB but Microsoft insisted on a little bit more memory?

    At the end, Bill never said anything like that just a myth that still lives.

  16. #16
    Programmer Bulat Ziganshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Uzbekistan
    Posts
    4,497
    Thanks
    733
    Thanked 659 Times in 354 Posts
    it just mirrors your words. at some point people believed than 640k would be enough for any personal computer use (first ibm pc was sold with 16-64kb of memory and there were no applications that used more - well, may be except for concurrent cp/m that was able to utilize up to 256kb running 4 cp/m sessions togehther)

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    111
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bulat Ziganshin View Post
    memory sizes are increased 100x each 10 years, so if now you have more than 100 mb...
    That wasn't true in the 80s because even in 1994 my 486 PC only came with 4 MB!! Nowadays we have freakin' gfx cards that are 1 Ghz and/or 1 GB of VRAM, which would've been ridiculously good on a desktop ten years ago.

    However, despite being cool, I still think it's obscene to use 13 GB of RAM. :-P

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rugxulo View Post
    That wasn't true in the 80s because even in 1994 my 486 PC only came with 4 MB!!
    10 years -> 100x (2 orders of magnitude)
    15 years (2009-1994) -> 1000x -> 4 GB today.
    Quote Originally Posted by Rugxulo View Post
    Nowadays we have freakin' gfx cards that are 1 Ghz and/or 1 GB of VRAM, which would've been ridiculously good on a desktop ten years ago.

    However, despite being cool, I still think it's obscene to use 13 GB of RAM. :-P
    I think that a human brain can remeber more than 13 GB of info.

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Kraków, Poland
    Posts
    1,471
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 120 Times in 94 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by IsName View Post
    I think that a human brain can remeber more than 13 GB of info.
    Human brain uses lossy compression to store data I've read somewhere that human brain has capacity of 1 GB. And I think that every brain discards data in different way. ;p

    Today standard RAM capacity is 4 GiB, manufactured at about 55 nm (I think). I've read that the limit of transistor scaling is about 11 nm. This gives 5 * 5 = 25 times more memory at the same dimensions. So we'll have about 100 GiB in 202x. But there are some technologies like one transistor memory cells or something which can lead to few times higher capacities.

  20. #20
    Member Skymmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    681
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 168 Times in 84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt Mahoney View Post
    New LTCB record. http://www.mattmahoney.net/text/text.html#1280

    Dmitry Shkarin has improved durilca4linux_3 to durilca'kingsize. Compression of enwik9 is improved from 129.8 MB to 128.0 MB. Unfortunately the program requires 13 GB of memory and 64-bit Windows, so I could not run it on my own computer.
    Well, the goal of this version is understandable but 13 GB is too much for my taste. From the other point of view it runs 40 times faster than PAQ8hp12any so its a good tradeoff I think.

    Quote Originally Posted by Piotr Tarsa
    Human brain uses lossy compression to store data I've read somewhere that human brain has capacity of 1 GB. And I think that every brain discards data in different way. ;p
    Yes, brain uses lossy compression with tendency to slowly impair its quality . Also it has quite bad random access sometimes and I'm not talking about just awful multi-tasking BUT! Don't forget that brain is able to store such data as tactile sense, smell and taste data which I believe will never be possible for computers. Furthermore it able to CREATE! I mean painting, sculpturing, music etc.

  21. #21
    Programmer osmanturan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mersin, Turkiye
    Posts
    651
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Skymmer View Post
    ...BUT! Don't forget that brain is able to store such data as tactile sense, smell and taste data which I believe will never be possible for computers. Furthermore it able to CREATE! I mean painting, sculpturing, music etc.
    Well...Electronic nose already exists for years. What's more, I know a PhD thesis in my country about classification the microorganisms with electronic nose. So, in short it is possible...
    BIT Archiver homepage: www.osmanturan.com

Similar Threads

  1. New LTCB record
    By Matt Mahoney in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 4th December 2009, 04:57
  2. New LTCB champion
    By Matt Mahoney in forum Data Compression
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd May 2008, 17:33
  3. ASH04a and LTCB
    By Shelwien in forum Forum Archive
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 28th February 2008, 15:04

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •